

## Scope of Sustainability

Sustainability (ISSN 2071-1050) is an international and cross-disciplinary scholarly journal of environmental, cultural, economic and social sustainability of human beings, which provides an advanced forum for studies related to sustainability and sustainable development. It publishes reviews, regular research papers, communications and short notes.

Our aim is to encourage scientists to publish their experimental and theoretical results in as much detail as possible. There is no restriction on the length of the papers. The full experimental details must be provided so that the results can be reproduced. There are, in addition, three unique features of this Journal:

- Manuscripts regarding research proposals and research ideas will be particularly welcomed.
- Electronic files and software regarding the full details of the calculation and experimental procedure, if unable to be published in a normal way, can be deposited as supplementary material.
- Manuscripts summarizing or surveying research projects that are founded by national governments are also welcome, to provide information to a broader field of users.

## **Open Access**

- freely available to everyone on the Internet
- permission to reuse the published content
- high visibility and citation impact

Sustainability (ISSN 2071-1050), an international and cross-disciplinary, scholarly, Open Access journal of environmental, cultural, economic and social sustainability of human beings, which provides an advanced forum for studies related to sustainability and sustainable development, is published by MDPI online monthly.



www.mdpi.com/journal/sustainability/

# **Sustainability**Call for papers





## **Call for Papers**

Dear Colleagues,

You are invited to contribute a long research article or a comprehensive review for consideration and publication in *Sustainability* (ISSN 2071-1050).

Sustainability is an online Open Access journal providing an advanced forum for studies related to sustainability and sustainable development. Manuscripts prepared in Microsoft Word or LaTeX can be submitted by e-mail to sustainability@mdpi.com. Detailed instructions for authors are available on the Sustainability website:

www.mdpi.com/journal/sustainability/instructions/

Sustainability is published in Open Access format – research articles, reviews and other content is released on the Internet immediately after acceptance. The scientific community and the general public can unlimitedly access the content for free as soon as it is published.

For manuscripts submitted before 30 June 2010, the Open Access publishing and its related article processing charges (APC) are of 300 CHF and are supported by the authors' institutes or research funding bodies. For manuscript submitted after 30 June 2010, the article processing charges are of 500 CHF.

We are looking forward to hearing from you.

Sustainability Editorial Office

#### **MDPI AG**

Postfach CH – 4005 Basel Switzerland E-mail: sustainability@mdpi.com Tel. +41 61 683 7734 Fax +41 61 302 8918

## Sustainability Special Issues

Sustainability is published within the major subject areas that cover a wide range of different sustainability-related studies:

- Problems concerning sustainability,
- Socio-economic approaches to sustainable development,
- Scientific approaches to sustainable development.

A list of special issues currently open for submission is also available from the *Sustainability* website:

www.mdpi.com/journal/sustainability/sections

# Related Journals Published by MDPI

- Energies www.mdpi.com/journal/energies
- Diversity www.mdpi.com/journal/diversity
- International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health www.mdpi.com/journal/ijerph

### **Editorial Board**

#### **Editor-in-Chief**

Prof. Dr. Marc A. Rosen Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science, University of Ontario, Institute of Technology, 2000 Simcoe Street North, Oshawa, Ontario, L1H 7K4, Canada

#### **Editorial Board Members**

Philipp Aerni (University of Bern), Johannes Barth (GeoZentrum Nordbayern), Allyson Beall (University of Idaho), Frans G.H. Berkhout (VU University Amsterdam), Luis M. A. Bettencourt (Los Alamos National Laboratory), Werner Bonrath (DSM Nutritional Products), Bart A.G. Bossink (VU University), Barry Brook (University of Adelaide), Erve J. Chambers (University of Maryland), Wouter Theodoor de Groot (Leiden University), David de la Croix (Université Catholique de Louvain), Brian Deal (University of Illinois), Peng Deng (High Point University), John C. Dernbach (Widener University), Jo Dewulf (Ghent University), Ibrahim Dincer (University of Ontario), Laurance R. Doyle (SETI Institute), Richard G. Dudley (NY), Daniel A. Farber (University of California), Werner T. Flueck (University Basel), Andrew Ford (Washington State University), Eric R. Gallandt (University of Maine), Robert Goodland, David I. Gustafson (Monsanto), Charles A.S. Hall (State University of New York), Ralf Hansmann (ETH Zurich), Michael J. Heckenberger (University of Florida), Daniel M. Kammen (University of California, Berkeley), Byron Keating (University of Wollongong), Gebhard Kirchgässner (University of St. Gallen), Alexandra-Maria Klein (University of Göttingen), Christopher J. Koroneos (University of Thessaloniki), Robert Krueger (Worcester Polytechnic Institute), Gurkan Kumbaroglu (Boğaziçi University), Daniel J. Lang (ETH Zurich), Jesus Martinez-Frias (Centro de Astrobiologia, Madrid), Michael A. R. Meier (U. of Applied Sciences Oldenburg/ Ostfriesland/ Wilhelmshaven), Ottar Michelsen (NTNU), Joel A. Mintz (Nova Southeastern University), Bedřich Moldan (Charles University), Richard Henry Moore (Ohio State University), Giuseppe Munda (Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona), Lionel Obadia (University of Lyon), Dr. Paul S. Phillips (University of Northampton), Dr. David Pimentel (Cornell University), Andrius Plepys (Lund University), Scott Prudham (University of Toronto), Pallav Purohit (IIASA), Arthur J. Ragauskas (Georgia Institute of Technology), Joel Ratsaby (Ariel University Center), Darren Robinson (EPFL), Stephen H. Schneider (Stanford University), Miklas Scholz (The University of Edinburgh), Dr. Pietro Tundo (University of Venice), Silvia Ulli-Beer (PSI), Ross M. Welch (Cornell University), Ning Zeng (University of Maryland) and Peng Zhang (Chinese Academy of Sciences).